The Toronto Railway Museum is dedicated to preserving the physical legacy, history and experience of rail transportation in Toronto and Ontario. The museum encompasses Roundhouse Park with Stall 17 as the temporary home of the railway simulator and small artifact display. Don Station houses our gift shop and ticket sales for our Miniature Train ride. Explore the grounds to find our interpretive plaques!
Check out our social media pages to learn more:
The museum is open five days a week and holidays.
|Monday – Tuesday||Closed|
|Wednesday – Sunday||12:00 p.m – 5:00 p.m|
Admission to the museum is $5.00 for those 14 and older, and $3.00 for children under 14. The Miniature Train ride tickets are a separate fee and are $3.50 for those 14 and older, and $2.50 for children under 14.
The museum is located in Roundhouse Park on Bremner Blvd., south of the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. The entrance to the museum is located at Stall 17 of the John Street Roundhouse. Look for the yellow doors behind the large turntable!Toronto Railway Museum
Call us at 416-214-9229.
Our collection includes large items, such as multiple restored locomotives (eg. CNR 6213), passenger cars (eg. Cape Race), freight cars (eg. TH&B caboose #70), and railway structures (eg. Cabin D and Don Station). There are also small items such as lanterns, conductor uniforms, oil cans and tools used to repair locomotives in the CPR John St. Roundhouse.
See Restoration for more information.
A passenger-carrying miniature railway offers rides on tracks that loop through the park in front of the museum for half a kilometre.
|May – June (weather and track permitting)|
|Sat. – Sun.||12:00 p.m – 5:00 p.m|
|Late June – Labour Day Weekend|
|Daily||12:00 p.m – 5:00 p.m|
|September – October|
|Sat. – Sun. (weather and track permitting)||12:00 p.m – 5:00 p.m|
Inside the museum, you have the opportunity to be an engineer by setting the speed, using the brakes, and blowing the horn all with actual levers!
Take control of the train railway tracks of Toronto in the 1950’s in the simulator.
The John Street Roundhouse used to provide technicians and mechanics the ability to work on and under the locomotives that came through Toronto. It is only fitting that three of the stalls in the Roundhouse are still being used to work on these large artifacts that the museum acquires.
The remaining stalls of the Roundhouse are currently occupied by Steam Whistle Brewery and Leon’s.
Volunteers at the museum complete restoration on locomotives and train cars. Though visitors are not provided direct access to the restoration area, visitors can see the pieces being restored from the museum floor.
In 1929, National Steel Car in Hamilton built what was initially built as a luxurious first class passenger car called “River Liard” for sleeping car passengers.
It had a lounge and showers until 1941 when they were removed and replaced with bedrooms and the passenger car was renamed Cape Race in 1947. It travelled all over Canada and is now in the museum being restored.
We recently just completed restoration on the Toronto, Hamilton & Buffalo railway caboose No. 70 that was built built for the TH&B in Berwick, PA in 1913.
Cabooses like this one were usually at the rear of every freight train and provided headquarters for freight crews with office space, bunks, a kitchen, toilet and a cupola to observe the cars of the train. These cabooses were phased out by railways in the 1990’s and replaced by an electronic device on the last car of the train.
Like us on Facebook to receive regular updates, view our photos, and learn about upcoming events.
Follow our Twitter feed for museum updates, interesting train history, news and more.
We created a Pinterest Board to collect images of all things train related in Toronto.
Our hard-working volunteers continue to be busy restoring our exhibits and preparing new displays for next season. If you wish to join us in this endeavour, please contact us. We are always looking for new volunteers, no matter what your skill level. A desire to contribute is all that is required.
The Toronto Railway Historical Association was established in 2001 to work with the City of Toronto to establish the railway museum at the John Street Roundhouse. The TRHA is incorporated and is a Federally registered charity. Its primary purpose is to promote the development of the Toronto Railway Museum, which opened in May 2010.
Want to know when the miniature railway is running and the museum is open? Or want to be notified when we have special events? Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you up to date.